I Want To Be Terrified

Five years ago, I had just graduated from high school. I would spend that summer becoming invisible to my friends who were mostly going to community college while I was headed to San Diego State.

Five years ago, in my A.P English class my teacher shared this Commencement Address with all of his classes.

He explained, if I recall correctly, that a former student had sent it to him. He liked it and had shared it with all of his students at the end of the year. It was originally attributed to author, Kurt Vonnegut, until I recently looked up its origins a few weeks back when I felt myself wanting to quote it.

image1Do one thing every day that scares you.” –Mary Schmich

The paper now has the correct author scribbled on it with permanent marker and it is hanging on the wall near my bedroom window.

It reminds me that anyone can say something wise and the only way anyone feels like anything ever said is wise is when the listener needs to hear it. Who says it is completely insignificant because the words we need to hear most often don’t come from some professor or critically acclaimed writer, they come from someone who has the experience. Wise words come from emotions and not from numbers of books sold, or people with Ph.D’s, or people with billions of dollars. They come from hurt.

I want to be terrified.

What do you think?

